Creative writing portfolio


Table Of Contents

1-3 Writing section

4 Reflection- Metacognitive letter


 

1) My prose poem New House, New Beginnings: I chose to add a little more detail about my family and my siblings at the beginning and changed a few of my words. I liked how when other people read it they could hear my voice as they read and that makes me very happy with what I wrote.

2) My personal essay Really? Really.: Once I reread it I wasn’t sure what I could edit but once I finished it I realized it wasn’t ended properly so I changed it to a question directed towards the reader. Other than that I am happy with the way this turned out.

3) And my Short Story A Night to Remember: It wasn’t finished to my liking so I had to rewrite a lot of it these past few days but honestly I am very very proud of it. My friend had originally given me the idea of a dream he had about him and his girlfriend, no I didn’t use their names or exactly what he dreamt but I put my own twist on it


4) As I read through what I have written this semester I noticed my overall improvement in my writing style. Back at the beginning of high school and middle school, everything I wrote was about being sad and not feeling like I was enough, but as I got older my view of situations has changed and I was able to channel a lot of different emotions into my writing even when I didn’t want to write anymore. I kind of need more time to master how to write a good poem, I was never good at writing poetry but I am very good at writing and telling stories. So I need to work on how I write poetry. When I look at my work I found it funny how when I started the semester everything I wrote was very very short but as the semester went on I got more descriptive with scenes in my pieces and they began to get longer. My personal essay showed my ability to question a concept and refute it but also accept it and notice yeah I didn’t believe it at first but over time see that people change and things change whether we want them to or not. The process it took me to produce and revise my short story I would have to say was very long, coming up with the idea was very very hard. A friend of mine had told me one of his dreams he had about him and his girlfriend, it was summer and a lot of cute things that were similar to what I wrote happened and I loved the idea of a story that was about two strangers meeting. And ending the story on a cliffhanger leaving the reader to imagine what happened and if it ended well or not was a spur of the moment thing, and once I did that I read through it and changed some of my wording and added more detail where it was needed.

Leave a comment